Posted by: goatberg | April 2, 2008

Wanderlust

There’s been a bit of internet buzz the past few days about Bjork’s latest music video, Wanderlust.  Last night I watched it online.  It’s stunning.  Now I am going to make a bold assertion, but unlike many of my bold assertions, I will stand by it: Anyone who knows psilocybin well will definitely recognize certain key visual aspects of the world created in this video. I first saw the stills (posted below) for the video a few weeks ago, I can’t remember where, but I do remember thinking what a fully realized psychedelic vision those stills represented.  Upon closer inspection of the stills, the flowing yet lumpy nature of all the objects depicted – that foreign yet somehow familiar smooth bulkiness that matter curiously inhabits – it’s all, in my experience, very unique to the psilocybin world. So it was to my utter delight to hear the creators confirm my conviction in, of all places, a New York Times video segment. From the interview in the video:

“It involved using psilocybin mushrooms, going into nature in kind of  perturbed state.  I can’t really elaborate on the full weight of that experience because it doesn’t really translate back into language, so.” 

“Are you serious about the mushrooms.”

 “Yes.” 

The grass is especially well conceived. There are a handful of shots, particularly the ones in which the hand is digging up earth beside the river, that truly capture a visual aspect of the psilocybin experience in a way I’ve never seen before.  As the creators note in the interview, there is so much from that experience that is impossible to put into language, but in the video they were able to accurately capture a certain essence of the mushroom, I don’t know how else to put it, that totally blows me away.  Even the 2-D verison is awesome!  Needless to say, I am stoked to eventually watch this video in three dimensions, and I don’t use the word ‘stoked’ lightly.

47273_wanderlust3.jpg

Well done!

Leave a Reply

Categories

