Posted by: goatberg | February 21, 2008

Save the Old Growth Forest! A Matter of National Defense!

Did you know that Animalia and Fungi have been combined into a super kingdom of life called Opisthokonts? That fungi are our direct ancestors, the mother of all life on land? Paul Stamets is without doubt the right man to let you know. I first learned about Stamets a few months when I came across this video in which he makes bold claims about green pesticides under a hat made of mushroom felt. That lead me to his website, a smorgasbord of mushroom goodness including kits to seed rotting logs in your yard with gourmet mushroom gardens. Today I came across a talk he gave on developments in mycology at LOHAS 10. This is an exceptional presentation, better than most TED Talks I’ve seen recently. If you only watch a bit of it, check out part six where he unveils his “Life Box,” a cardboard box seeded with the recipe for a forest. As for his plan to protect old growth forest using national defense as the primary argument, I’ll leave that to him. Here’s part one:

Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 | Part 5 | Part 6


Leave a comment

Categories